"Black Steel are cool!" 
- Bruce Dickinson of IRON MAIDEN, on his BBC5 radio show, 'Bruce's Rock Show' in 2005
The BLACK STEEL 'BATTLE CALL' EP is back in a very limited re-press! After being sold out for over a decade, the debut EP that started it all is back in a VERY LIMITED quantity. Click on the 'Battle Call' image below, or the 'STORE' button at the top of this page to grab your copy now...


- supported DEEP PURPLE (2001)
- supported JUDAS PRIEST (2001 & 2008)
- played METALLICA-headlined 'Big Day Out' (2004)
- supported BLACK LABEL SOCIETY (2006)
- listed in Garry Sharpe-Young's 'The A-Z Of Power Metal'

KKKK RATING (4/5) - 'Kerrang!' magazine (2001)

'BLACK STEEL' (L-R) Jamie Page (guitar), Damien Petrilli (drums), Matt Williams (vocals), Dave Harrison (bass), Andrew Di Stefano (guitar)
Photo by Tony Harrison.

BLACK STEEL were formed in early 2000 in the city of Perth in Western Australia. Comprising members from a pedigree of some of WA's most respected bands - Dave Harrison (ALLEGIANCE), Jamie Page (TRILOGY/BLACK ALICE), Matt Wiiliams (PROJECT X), Damien Petrilli (SYZYGY), and young guitar virtuoso Andrew Di Stefano. BLACK STEEL are purveyors of traditional classic heavy metal music with an emphasis on high calibre musicianship, strong melody, double kick drumming, soaring vocals, big choruses and dual guitar soloing. Members of BLACK STEEL have toured & played with many of the genres biggest names in previous outfits in their home country. Dave has toured with the likes of PANTERA, SLAYER, ROB HALFORD, MACHINE HEAD, ANTHRAX, SEPULTURA etc..

Jamie’s background includes recording with musicians such as the late COZY POWELL (Black Sabbath, Whitesnake, Rainbow, Malmsteen etc) & writing credits for Queen guitarist BRIAN MAY, movie soundtracks & gigs with 80's NWOBHM era musicians Dennis Wilcox (IRON MAIDEN original vocalist) & members of 80's cult metal act ANGEL WITCH & gigs with MOTORHEAD, DEEP PURPLE etc.

BLACK STEEL’s first recorded effort was the 'BATTLE CALL' EP. The four tracks on the disc are the first written songs by BLACK STEEL. Recorded in just over 2 days at Survival Studios in Western Australia. The first pressing sold out in just a few short weeks. Positive reviews followed in many metal 'zines, websites & major magazines including biggies like Heavy Order Was & Kerrang! The EP created a positive buzz throughout the metal underground, topped a number of independent charts and received airplay on Metal shows throughout the country

In late 2000 BLACK STEEL recorded a rendition of the AC/DC classic ‘Dirty Deeds’ for the AC/DC Hometown tribute CD released thru Oracle records.

Some big breaks were offered to the band in 2001 with the band opening for DEEP PURPLE & also JUDAS PRIEST on their respective Australian tours.

The full length debut BLACK STEEL album 'Destructor' was released in late 2001. The album showcases a continuation of the melodic metal style developed on their 'Battle Call' EP. The diverse range of songs with big choruses and anthemic metal themes, included mid paced rockers to fast double kick screaming heavy metal - in the classic tradition of prime era Judas Priest, Iron Maiden & Accept with cutting edge metal production.. Drawing from a wide range of influences & a wealth of experience, attention to detail was the upmost priority in the production & song writing process. The release of the ‘Destructor’ album ignited a great deal of interest in the band from around the world with positive reviews in many major metal magazines and websites. The albums title track was selected for inclusion in Germanys 'Heavy Oder Was' Magazine 'Metal Crusade Vol 4' cover mount CD with a distribution of 40 000 copies. Black Steel are also featured on the 'Left Of Centre 2' compilation and Australian National Radio JJJ compilation 'Full Metal racket Vol 2'.

In Oct 2002 Black Steel signed a licensing agreement with Adrenaline Records subsiduary 'Steel Heart Records' for release across Europe, & also 'CD-Maximum' for release in Russian territories.

2003 saw the band trimming back to a 4 piece with Jamie Page handling all guitar duties & the band playing on the prestigious Big Day Out festival headlined by Metallica.
A 3 track EP ‘Relentless Force’ was released in 2004 featuring bonus tribute songs Saxon's 'Power & The Glory'(which also features on the 'Tribute To The Glory Of 80's Metal CD released through Adrenaline Records) & Thin Lizzy 'Emerald'. Lizzy – ‘Emerald’

In November 2005 Black Steel released 'Hellhammer' featuring 11 tracks & recorded at Bonsai Studios in Western Australia. Still featuring their traditional brand of melodic metal, the album also featured some much heavier tracks, such as the angry album opener 'Annihilate', followed by the equally brutal 'That Was Then, This Is Now'. Positive reviews followed once again, and IRON MAIDEN lead singer BRUCE DICKINSON plugged Black Steel on his BBC Radio Show 'Bruce's Rock Show', airing the track 'Slaughterhouse' on a couple of occasions.

In 2006, Black Steel recorded a cover version of Pantera's 'Heavy Metal Rules', for inclusion on the late Dimebag Darrell (PANTERA / DAMAGE PLAN guitarist) tribute album 'The Art Of Shredding - A Tribute To Dime' (Darkstar Records).

In 2008, Black Steel were approached to again support JUDAS PRIEST, on the Perth leg of the bands 'Nostradamus' Tour, and the original recording line-up of Matt Williams, Jamie Page, Andrew Di Stefano, Dave Harrison and Damien Petrilli were re-united for the show.

(Garry Sharpe-Young's 'The A-Z Of Power Metal', in which 'Black Steel' are listed).

(Dave Harrison on the cover of 'The West Magazine' - 21 June 2003).

LLLL Rating - LOUD
KKKK – Kerrang!
99% Full Force Online

"Be it the production, musicianship, the songs or the song writing and structure, everything is of such a high stardard and it makes me proud to be able to say these guys are Aussies."
- Primal Agony Online 

- download the Black Steel's albums 'Hellhammer', 'Relentless Force', 'Destructor' and 'Battle Call' from iTunes
- Order CD's from www.heavymetalmerchant.com (ebay store)

You are visitor number: 13489